Home > Poetry > Remorse

Remorse

January 23, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

And just as I became assured
My lame foot would be speedily cured
The music stopped and I stood still
And found myself outside the hill
Left alone against my will
To go limping as before
And never hear of that country more!

That I would die was the best I thought
That I would be hated, I rest assured
Contempt was all I could contemplate
That I would be forgotten for all that was said
There was nothing to clutch around
And yet things keep coming round and round
To make me look like an ugly beast
That waits upon its prey to wake up and feast.

But these people are hanging bitterly with pain
Their revenge has killed everything else that remain
I can beg for nothing better than death
And still in the least measure can I expect
I’m lost alone against my will
With a limping leg and a bitter pill
That could bite anytime I know
My life is full of remorse and sorrow
But there is nothing now that can be done
For a murdered man can never return.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment